Every vehicle registration in Georgia is required to be renewed annually.
For individuals, the registration expires at midnight of the vehicle owner’s birthday and must be renewed during the 45- day period preceding their birthday.
For businesses, the registrations expire at the end of the business’ designated registration month based on the first letter of the business name as follows:
|Business Name||Renewal Month|
|A - B||January|
|C - D||February|
|E - F||March|
|G - H||April|
|I - J||May|
|K - L||June|
|M - N||July|
|O - P||August|
|Q - R||September|
|S - T||October|
|U - V - W||November|
|X - Y - Z||December|
Vehicle registrations may be renewed online here. You may also choose to mail or renew the registration in person at the Colquitt County Tax Commissioner’s Office located at 1601 N Columbia St, Ste 100, Milledgeville, GA 31061.
If renewing in person, cash or checks drawn on a local bank are accepted. Our office does not accept e-checks.
Credit cards are accepted. For Discover, Mastercard, and Visa a 2.57% convenience fee applies and for American Express a 3% convenience fee applies ($1.50 minimum).
Vehicle owners are required to maintain Georgia liability insurance coverage on all vehicles registered in the state of Georgia. Failure to do so will lead to fines and the eventual suspension of the Georgia vehicle registration.
Insurance cards are not considered acceptable proof of insurance for vehicle registration purposes in Georgia.
Insurance companies are required to transmit insurance information electronically into Georgia’s Motor Vehicle database within 30 days. Please verify the accuracy of the VIN number on your insurance card. If the VIN is incorrect, your insurance information will not be transmitted properly.
If the insurance company has not submitted your insurance electronically at the time of registration, then you will need to bring in:
Individuals moving to Georgia from another state will need a valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID with their current Colquitt County address.
Individuals moving to Colquitt County from another Georgia county will need a valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID with their current Colquitt County address.
If you have a a current decal on your vehicle and you plan on canceling the insurance on that vehicle, you will need to visit our office or go online here to cancel the registration first. You will need to have your driver’s license and tag number available.
When you plan to operate the vehicle again and the insurance has been reinstated, you will need to come to our office or go online here to request that the registration be un-canceled. If you are processing this online, the insurance will need to have been electronically transmitted in Georgia’s Motor Vehicle database by your insurance company.
Disabled parking placards are available to anyone who is temporarily or permanently disabled. Only one disabled parking placard is allowed per individual. Individuals can move the placard to any vehicle in which they are travelling. There is no charge for a disabled placard/permit.
To receive a disabled parking placard, your physician must complete and notarize form MV-9D. This must be submitted to our office along with a copy of your Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card with your current Colquitt County address.
Temporary Placards are red in color and are issued for 6 months. A new MV-9D is required for a renewal.
Permanent placards are blue in color and are issued for 4 years. A new MV-9D is not required for renewal. To renew, you must present the expiring placard along with your Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card with your current Colquitt County address.
Only individuals with permanent disabilities are eligible for a Disabled Person's license plate.
Your physician must complete and notarize form MV-9D. If it is not your registration renewal period, you are required to bring in your active tag to be turned in. You must also bring your Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card with your current Colquitt County address in order to receive your Disabled Person’s license plate.
Yes. If you already have a disabled person’s license plate you will not be required to prove disability again to obtain a (blue) permanent Disabled Placard and vice versa.
You must come into the office and fill out a MV-9B application for the combination that you would like to appear on your prestige plate or you may check online for its availability. The plate selection is subject to approval based on Department of Revenue Regulation.
Passenger vehicle plates are limited to seven letters or numbers including spaces. Motorcycle plates are limited to six letters or numbers including spaces.
The initial prestige tag fee will be $90 (one-time $35 manufacturing fee, $35 annual special tag fee and the $20 tag fee).
You will receive a temporary operating permit until the tag is manufactured and mailed from GCI (Georgia Correctional Industries). If it is not within your registration renewal period, you are required to bring in your active tag to be turned in. You will also need to bring your Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card with your current Colquitt County address.
101 East Central Ave.
P.O. Box 99
Moultrie, GA 31768
Click here for map >
Monday – Friday: 8:00am - 4:30pm
101 East Central Avenue, Office 168
P.O. Box 2408
Moultrie, GA 31768
Click here for map >
Monday – Friday: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Landfill Open Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00pm